Tutorial: a basic alternative layout

Per the suggestion of @saqimtiaz in another thread, I created a step-by-step for an Alternative Layout. The layout is basic so it can serve as an introductory lesson rather than a deep-dive.

If you want to jump ahead to the result, or read the tutorial in its proper TiddlyWiki form, go to:

https://alt-layout-tutorial.tiddlyhost.com/

A proper introduction

I started learning CSS Grid and CSS Flexobx soon after the official release that introduced Alternative Layouts. TiddlyWiki seemed like a great tool to practice on, as I could edit tiddlers and preview results very quickly.

I almost immediately ran into a recurring problem with TiddlyWiki’s UI elements: many instances of nested HTML elements (multiple layers of <span>s inside a container <div>, extra <p>s thrown in amongst transcluded lists of buttons). Flexbox and Grid, currently, only allow containers to effect direct children. A textbox inside 7 <span>s doesn’t work well when learning and wanting simple structures to experiment on. I started removing or re-making elements to keep HTML to a minimum. This eventually led to custom layouts to structure the UI just the way I wanted.

:face_with_raised_eyebrow: What is in this tutorial?

I walk through creating a new Left Sidebar that can be shown/hidden easily, get the Right Sidebar to do the same, AND let the Story River more naturally re-size between them. I also make the TopBar more obvious and out of way of other elements.

This process involves looking at system tiddlers; copying & pasting wikitext code; creating system tiddlers; using system tags; editing wikitext, HTML, and CSS rules!

For each major step, I have a goal, show some code, then give some comments on the code. I can’t be exhaustive in explanations, but I give enough to help a relative newcomer gain some comfort looking at the “behind-the-scenes” of TiddlyWiki, going beyond just adding content to a digital notebook/wiki.