How big can a TiddlyWiki get?

Hi,

I am new to using TiddlyWiki. I have been using it for about 2 months. I started reading Grok TiddlyWiki and it really helped me see the power of this application. I’ve been using TiddlyWiki mainly for notes for my job. I have around like 200 tiddlers right now (I use node.js instead of a single html file).

I had the idea to use TiddlyWiki to learn languages. I am not exactly sure how I am going to implement this. At the least, I know that each language will have it’s own TiddlyWiki. I was wondering how well TiddlyWiki scales using Node.js instead of a single html file? My rough idea is to have a tiddler for each word in the language that I come across and store sentences inside of it. I am not sure if each sentence will also be a tiddler (that seems like it would be impossible to do, since that would mean well over 2 million sentences/tiddlers or so, assuming one reaches native fluency).

I am planning on having each sentence in TiddlyWiki link to the note id of an Anki note. In that Anki note, I will include the audio and images that will help with that sentence. So, I won’t be including any images, audio files, or videos in it.

I am not even sure how well Anki itself scales, but I am assuming it scales well since medical students and other language learners use it.

I know this idea is probably overkill to learn a language but I have been experimenting with different ways of learning. Any thoughts from others who used TiddlyWiki to learn a language or a large domain would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

1 Like

I have a TW file with well over 10,000 Tiddlers (it might actually be 15,000) and it’s over 14.5 MB. It loads and saves fine.

If you don’t mind me asking, what do you use your TiddlyWiki for? I’m always interested in learning about new ways that TiddlyWiki can be used in.