WebContainers run Node.js natively in your browser. Could it be usefull for tiddlywiki?

As the title says, the stackblitz team has launched WebContainers, a WebAssembly-based operating system powerful enough to run Node.js.

Could this tech be used to turn a tiddlywiki into a PWA (progressive web app) ?

2 Likes

I am no expert in this

I think it could allow tiddlywiki node servers to be a PWA and Tiddlywiki on top of that.

I am not sure tiddlywiki single file is not itself very close to a PWA already.

If we can make tiddlywikis into installable PWAs by passing all the saver issues it will be a new dawn. If we could get the file uploads plugin working with this to support media rich content we would be close to a full application platform.

Thanks for sharing

1 Like

My prior reply was based on my key objective of making tiddlywiki transparently deployable and the use of the term PWA is possibly a “trigger for me”, I tend to use node implementations only for “serving tiddlywiki’s on my desktop/LAN” myself, although I understand a lot of the developer’s use it for other reasons.

I am not sure but I expect the implementation is not necessarily going to allow TiddlyWiki’s to be published to the internet for others to access at the same time, although perhaps the WebContainers part will allow this?

So the native “Node.js in your browser possibilities”, may support the “personal” use of “Node and Tiddlywiki” in the browser, which a section of our community are likely to embrace wholeheartedly, and promises to allow some powerful possibilities.

However if we can use this to Publish as well, and allowing us to incorporate additional services from within node and NPM this could be very interesting.

Very cool! You can click this link to get your own Node.js instance in your browser: Node.js (forked) - StackBlitz

In the console on the bottom, you can install TiddlyWiki, create a new TiddlyWiki, and listen on port 8080. TiddlyWiki opens on the right.