Translating Discourse

A modest question. Since Discourse is more clever than GG …

Would it be possible to include a button somewhere that would pass a Discourse post to a translation service like Google Translate or DeepL?

Best wishes
Josiah

@boris thanks for promoting this to its own thread.

Since many users here are not 100% fluent in English I think it is worth raising the issue.
On-line translation quality now is often very good for many languages.

Could we help non-native English speakers by providing a method to auto (i.e. provide a button to push) translate individual posts?

Just a query
TT

Sure, anyone can do research on Discourse and suggest changes.

I browsed the themes directory https://meta.discourse.org/c/theme/61/none but didn’t see anything obvious.

If someone can research how embedded translate buttons work we can consider adding it to the theme.

I do think it could help having ability to click a translate. I am no programmer but can see that it might help.

@boris Translator plugin.

No button - another functionality. As far as I understand it there are some side effects also.

I do know though that translation into my language, danish mostly ends up in gobbledegook

Interesting, thanks for looking into it!

Yeah this is calling against (paid?) cloud translation APIs and actually storing the translated version in the forum database.

I think this is too heavyweight from what I can tell. And we’d have to pick which languages to support ahead of time, looks like?

As can be showed with my little CSS hack of wiki formatting, researching how to add a button to a translation service for any website would be the way to go.

For sure, not denying that it would be helpful. Just like all of TW, everyone is a volunteer here.

This is mostly in the realm of front end design CSS / JS / HTML, and looking up the documentation of translate buttons from different services.