Performance: Data Tiddlers - aka Dictionaries - 4000 Tiddlers with 100 Fields each

Hi Folks,

I’m still new to TiddlyWiki - relative to working within the nuts & bolts - so please forgive my ignorance.

I recently read that Dictionaries are faster than regular Data Tiddlers - and this got me thinking,…

• I have roughly 4000+ Tiddlers that i will never change - they are “Dictionary”-type (not actual languages) but qualify
  • Each Dictionary Tiddler has about 100 indexes - and the content of the indexes are strings, with : . ’ , ( ) — but no double quotes — "

I am currently getting them into my TiddlyWiki as Dictionaries - - and have a few questions:

1. Anyone know if these are faster (search wise) than regular data tiddlers? (as per the post - can’t find it :frowning: )
  2. I am looking to see how I can easily access the “value” - so that I can just show what I am searching for – can’t seem to find anything - easily - I know it’s here somewhere - as I’ve read it,…
  3. I want to know if searching for the value in an index in a Dictionary Tiddler is “faster” in terms of TiddlyWiki performance - verses looking up via tags

Note: I avoid tags - since I have noticed that they do slow down my tiddly when I have a large amount of data displayed.

Thanks!

TwN00b

Data stored in dictionary tiddlers (type application/x-tiddler-dictionary) or JSON data tiddlers (type application/json) uses an index. The two main filter operators of interest are indexes and getindex.

indexes is used to retrieve a list of all the indexes in a given data tiddler. So if you had a dictionary tiddler TestData with the following content:

A: 1
B: 2
C: 3
Cat: 4

the filter [[TestData]indexes[]] (used in a $list widget or a filtered transclusion) will give you A B C Cat.

getindex is used to look up the value of a specific index. So [[TestData]getindex[B]] will give you 2.