Underlining Headings (Complete Novice)

Hello! I am comedically inexperienced with tiddlywiki, html, css stuff and the like, and while I’m endeavouring to learn (slowly) there’s a specific thing that I’d really, really like to be able to emulate and was wondering how to do it.

Grok TiddlyWiki — Build a deep, lasting understanding of TiddlyWiki has underlined headings in a style that I absolutely adore, and seems to have done it by editing what a heading itself looks like. I would greatly appreciately any advice on how to replicate this specific look, as well as useful resources on how to generally spice up my tiddlywiki from an aesthetic standpoint.

Welcome tiddlyClock,

To do answer your question I followed your link to the Grok web page went into the developer tools section of my browser, selected the title that you indicated and inspected the html and CSS.

This showed me that the CSS for the h2 tag is as follows…

h2:not(.tc-title) {
  margin-top: 6ex;
  margin-top: 0.4in;
  padding-bottom: 5px;
  border-bottom: 0.05px solid rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.87);
}

Border bottom looked like the likely candidate - what you cannot see here is that I was able to turn on and off this particular line of CSS and observe that the underlining you observe did indeed appear and disappear - so confirmation there! In Mozilla developer tools I was presented with a tick box next to each line of CSS so I can toggle it on and off - most browsers have similar tools.

My next task (if I were in your shoes) would be to investigate this a bit further perhaps see if it also appears for H1 tags or maybe not - often its a good idea and sense of achievement just to get one thing working (say H2 on it’s own) and take it from there.

You would be then looking to add a custom CSS tiddler and your first entry would look something like the above code - crucially the border bit.

Sorry this is not a sufficiently detailed description at best it’s a list of steps to take.