TiddlyWiki 5 core icon development

Over in the thread about the v5.2.6 prerelease there has been some interesting discussion about the improvements to the “save wiki” icon.

I thought it might be interesting to share my workbook of the TW5 icons. I’ve been using a drawing app for the Mac called Sketch since 2011. It lets me keep all the icons laid out on a canvas, with an overlay to indicate the areas to be exported as image files. (Sketch is not as popular as it was, and I don’t use it for anything besides the TW icons, so I wouldn’t recommend it nowadays).

Here’s the main area, which shows the finished versions of most of the core icons, along with a number of icons for sideprojects and some ideas that haven’t (yet) come to fruition:

Here’s the graveyard area where I put ideas that didn’t seem to work. Amongst other things, it shows how many attempts it took to come up with a control panel icon that I liked!

Open the images in a new tab to see the full size image.

9 Likes

I think that is very useful to see!

Such a visual, synoptic, view really helps one think more clearly about design issues for end wiki better!

Grazie, TT

If you were to move away from Sketch, what program would make sense for a replacement?

I don’t use Sketch any more except when working on TW icons.

For the last few years I’ve been using the commercial (but non-subscription) vector app Affinity Designer, available on Windows, macOS and iPad. It’s powerful and fast but has a style of user interface that I don’t hugely love (lots of docked sidebars with inscrutable tiny icons everywhere, in a very low contrast colour scheme). The excellent, full featured iPad app is the main reason I chose it.

Just wanted to say I really appreciate the icons in the core. I can grab an empty.html anytime and know I have some good icons to spruce up my content. I also typically copy over the doc macros so I can get <<.tip>>, <<.warning>>, and <<.note>> which I love using in my prose.