Setup your own TiddlyPWA server on Raspberry Pi 5 (using cloudflare tunnel)

I’m not an expert so I probably missed some important steps. This is working well for now, but I’m not sure if this approach is 100% secure, how the server could be setup to use a minimal amount of power, how to customize the homepage of the server, have automated backups, etc. This post is a wiki, so if you know more about the subject please feel free to improve it ! I’m using windows, so if you are on another OS, YMMV.

TiddlyPWA — TiddlyWiki Storage & Sync Solution (packett.cool) is an awesome way to sync your wiki accross multiple devices, almost in real time. You can use Glitch to host a server for free, but Glitch apps are slow to wake up and have a limited storage capacity. In this post, we’ll see how to host our own server on a Raspberry Pi 5, and how to access this server from anywhere in the world.

Installing Raspberry Pi OS Lite on the RP5

Note: I’m using a RP5 because that’s what I have, but you could probably use a Raspberry Pi Zero 2 W, or any similar alternative like Orange Pi & co

1. Flash your sd card or external usb hard drive with Raspberry Pie imager. I used Raspberry Pi Os Lite (64-bit):

1. Use OS customisation to enable SSH access to the pi:

Then Save.

When your boot up the pi, it should automatically connect to your local network and be accessible with PuTTY or any other SSH client. I also like to use WinSCP to browse the files on the pi more easily, but you don’t need it for this tutorial.

Installing deno on the RP5

Use PuTTY from the command line as usual, or create a shortcut for quick access:

1. Create a shortcut on the desktop to putty.exe
  2. Rename it if you want
  3. Right click > Properties
  4. Modify the target similar to: "C:\Program Files\PuTTY\putty.exe" user@raspberrypi -pw password
  5. Click OK

If your version of PuTTY does not support the pw parameter, you will need a public key.