Running a javascript function on Buttonpress

I’m new to plugin development and JS in TW and I can’t seem to find a ton on it, so sorry if this is obvious.

I want my plugin to register a toolbar button that calls a js function from my plugin. I actually can’t find anything on this, and I’m wondering if I have the wrong search terms? (I know how to make the button and bundle it, the question is about calling the js with it)

Is it an editor toolbar-button or is it somewhere else?

It’s a “view” toolbar I think. The one top of the sidebar. But I get that part. It’s the js side I don’t know.

Yea, but there is a difference how to create js-functions according how they are used.

For the editor toolbar there is a module-type: texteditoroperation that will allow you to use a lot of pre-built functionality, like keyboard shortcut handling and so on, without a single line of code.

The sidebar buttons usually are defined using the button-widget, which calls action-widgets when clicked.

So, probably the easiest way to get everything going in the TW way, will be a custom action widget. … BUT … It depends what you want to do.

Can you be more specific what your plugin does? and
What the new button should do?

I’m writing a program to export my tiddlywiki in a specific pdf format. It’s something that can’t be done properly in wikitext, so I have to move to JS. I want to have a button that calls my script to do the exporting.

So you want to convert some tiddlers into a page-like HTML output and give that to a PDF library. Is that right?

Basically, but I’m formatting it somewhat strangely, so I really can’t just feed a tiddler into the print as pdf and hope it will work.

Sorry I’m unable to make sense of “it” in the quoted text.

As I wrote there are many ways to use external libraries with TW. If you can not tell, which PDF library you want to use, I’m unable to tell, how it should be used, since I do not know the API. … Sorry.