Performance: Open Tiddlers: Any Limits On Numbers?

I have got very interested in issues to do with “how many Tiddlers can you have open?” …

My thought is to open wikis so that ALL Normal Tiddlers are displayed on load and use a live filter mechanism to hide those not of interest (along the lines of how @BurningTreeC does it in MCL “live column reductive search”) via user input search/filter (they still there, but hidden).

I am not asking here about numbers of Tiddlers in a wiki.
Rather seeking your thoughts on the number of open Tiddlers (that would be sensibly possible).

For instance is 800 open Tiddlers viable? (just an arbitrary number)

Any thoughts welcomed.
TT

I have not tried opening hundreds of tiddlers at once but I have some experience with how TW works under the hood. I see two possible issues with this approach:

1. While modern browsers are very fancy, all of that DOM (HTML structure) information has to be stored somewhere and sifted through when things happen. With most elements being invisible I don’t think it’d be that much of a big deal, but keep in mind that having a few hundred fairly complex entities on the page, even if invisible, could potentially cause slowdown when DOM is mutated (that is anything changes on the page).
  2. Tiddlywiki rendering works by creating objects that match what you see on the screen and having them listen to changes. This can end up being dozens of nested objects in a simple tiddler (just the UI) and hundreds (or even thousands, see below) in one with a fair bit of content. Every time you make a change to a tiddler, TW will ask each of those objects if they need to be updated. With hundreds of open tiddlers this can result in tens of thousands of events to check. You can probably expect delays of at least ~100ms per tiddler change, much more depending on your circumstances. (technically