Paying for Discourse

This came up in the group so I thought I’d document it publicly:

Right now, I am paying for the costs of the forum. This includes a couple of things (everything in $USD, although I myself am in Canada).

A server at Digital Ocean. Right now it’s a $10/month server, with $5 of backup. It seems to be using about 15-20% of the CPU power, and all other resources (disk space, bandwidth) are relatively small.

Email sending services through Mailgun. I had to bump that up right away to a $35/month plan. We’ll know at the end of the month if we need to go up one more tier.

Jeremy is paying for the TiddlyWikiDotOrg domain name on an annual basis, which is used for a few other things and that’s usually about $10 annually, so consider that a negligible or included cost.

This is pretty reasonable for software / hosting costs. The big cost – think $50-$100USD per hour – would be technical people. I’ve set up several Discourse instances that I run, not because I’m an expert, but because the software (relatively speaking) is well optimized to install with some basic server skills.

And lastly but absolutely not least is management of the content. @pmario volunteered to make some SVG logos so he got handed admin/moderator status, and we asked @EricShulman to hold a set of keys once again.

The “trust level” system will gradually give heavy users permissions to edit tags and other settings over time as they use the system. It looks like we can setup per-category moderators – not just for plugins, but anything that might need a little clean up now and again, or new features like “cool TW of the week” or whatever the community decides.