Parse date from tiddler title

Hi there,
Newbie here, would appreciate if anyone could help with my request.

I’m looking to use TW as a basic task manager. I have tiddlers whose names start with a date (due date) followed by a space followed by some text like so:

How do I filter tasks that start with today’s (or within the current week’s) date in the tiddler title? I tried looking for solutions, but can’t seem to quite get this to work. Thanks.

try [search:title<now YYYY0MM0DD>]

The now macro can get today’s date for you in whatever format is applicable to the date you are searching for.

Welcome back @nav

Try not to create compound titles, such as yours that includes the date, which is not very readable anyway. Set a due-date field instead, and you also have created and modified dates available.

At the same time tag them with todo or set a field like object-type=todo allowing you to identify them apart from other tiddlers.

There are already a number of todo list and task manager plugins and solutions available, as a new user you may find these a better way to start.

You could go directly to a more advanced tool like Projectify.

2 Likes

Could you elaborate a little about compound titles and best practices?

I found this thread but I didn’t see an explicit “why” for this being best practice.

If you make a compound title, such as you are doing, combining the date and task, every time you want to make use of the date you need to extract it from the title.

• This includes if you edit the title there is a risk you will “break the date”.
  • It is also much harder to use a date picker to change the date
  • What if you wanted to sort based on the title - but not the date.
  • What if your todo item exists but you have not decided on a date?
  • etc…

There are some rare cases where you may want to generate an almost identical title and want to make them unique, but this would perhaps should, be the exception not the rule.