New to tiddlywiki - need some help [with validating tags when user saves tiddler, then preventing (re)edits]

Dear all,

I am new to tiddlywiki so sorry if I ask beginner questions, my previous question might have been not clear enough.

I would like to close a bit the wiki so that users that create new tiddlers have to choose among tags :

• there are 5 tags corresponding to the people (person1 person2 … person5)
  • there are 3 tags corresponding to the types of note (type1 type2 type3)
    and of course the text that can be formatted.

So basically each new tiddler must have exactly 2 tags (e.g. person2 type3)

How would you achieve that ?

Users should not be able to edit the tiddler later : is there a way ?

Thanks for any help.

1 Like

Hello brunoc68!

I haven’t ever tried to implement either of these kinds of restrictions. But since nobody else has chimed in, I’ll offer a couple thoughts:

The first challenge is akin to what we call field-value “validation” in database circles. For TiddlyWiki, I think you would need an “on-save” action: A Modular Action Mechanism For Tiddler Save Button

I think it may still be worth asking a bit about whether you’re committed to tags here, rather than to having a person field and a note-type field.

Tags are convenient, but when you have consistent field-like structure to your real-world task, separate fields are often the wiser choice. Having such dedicated “lanes” of information may really make things easier as your solution grows.