Need to rename tags. Installed "Commander" plugin. It's not working

Hello. I am new to TiddlyWiki and this community. I have been using TiddlyWiki for a couple of months.

I have created a large number of tags. Some of them are misspelled. I installed the “Commander” plugin because tag renaming is listed as one of its features.

After installing, I opened the $:/Commander tiddler. From there, I selected Tag > Replace tags. There is a droplist selector labeled “Old tag”. I expect this would contain a selectable list of all the tags I have created.

However, the droplist is empty. I cannot specify the tag I want to rename.

I have tried re-installing the plugin which has not fixed the problem. Can anyone help? Thank you.

• TW version: 5.3.3
  • Commander version: 2.1.8
  • Browser: Safari, Version 17.5 (19618.2.12.11.6)
  • Other plugins installed: none

Hey,

I registered just because of you. To rename tags just use an editor like notepad++ or something and use the search and replace function.

Greetings,

The first step of any Commander operation is always selecting the tiddlers you want to edit. There are some prepopulated sample filters available in the dropdown here…

but if you don’t really know what you’re looking for, here’s a general purpose filter that will catch all your non-system tiddlers with tags: [all[tiddlers]!is[system]has[tags]]

If you already know which tags you want to edit, you could use the filter [tag[MY TAG]].

This will give you a list of all the tiddlers that meet the filter condition. If you check “Selective operation”, you’ll get a checkbox per tiddler and can manually select which tiddlers you want to work with.

Otherwise (if “Selective operation” is unchecked), any changes you make will be applied to all applicable tiddlers (that meet the initial filter condition). In this case, since you do want to change all instances of the misspelled tags, you probably want an non-selective operation.