Layout help for more menu and alerts

Hello folks,

I’m still learning CSS by brute force and am stuck on 2 pieces:

1. When the more menu for page controls is too far right - how can I move it further left so it doesn’t get cut off? In my real wiki it’s even further right…

From debugging it looks like the below, but overwriting the left in another stylesheet doesn’t seem to do anything.

2. The second one is alerts like the “saved” alert. I’m trying to snag the developer view quickly while it’s up by I’m not fast enough! :slight_smile: I’m implementing a “top bar” and I’d like to move the alerts to below it if possible.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

1. { left: positive number } means to move the element away from the left of the inner boundary of its container by x. I think you need to set it to a negative value so that it gets positioned outside the left boundary of its container
  2. I think the Saved! and other alerts are just HTML! there’s a tiddler in the PageTemplate that handles alerts: $:/core/ui/PageTemplate/alerts.

Drag and drop should change the position of the alerts.

Clutterstack’s notes on the TW page layout were helpful for me.

Problem #1:

When the more menu for page controls is too far right - how can I move it further left so it doesn’t get cut off?

The more menu for page controls uses a .tc-drop-down class inside a .tc-popup class. The position of the popup is automatically calculated by the core so that it appears directly under the $button that triggers it. This calculated position is directly assigned to the left style attribute of the .tc-popup. To override the style attribute using a CSS class, you need to use !important (one of the rare instances where this is actually necessary).

Try the following in a tiddler tagged with $:/tags/Stylesheet:

.tc-page-controls .tc-popup { left:2em !important; }
.tc-page-controls .tc-popup .tc-drop-down { min-width:auto; }

Notes: