Inserting Blank Spaces

Hello. I’m new to TW and was wondering how to accomplish something.

I would like to paste some of my favorite poe,s into tiddlers. Some of them have spaces at the beginning of lines, and I would like to emulate that formatting. I can paste " " for each space I would like to add, but it seems like it would be better to create a global function/procedure/macro (not sure which is most appropriate) where I can input a parameter to return " " a number of times based on the number of spaces I want. I would think it would look like this:

<<space “40”>>

The above would be replaced with 40 spaces.

Assuming this is a good way to add spaces , how would I go about defining this global function/procedure/macro?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Welcome to talk.tiddlywiki.org!

This should do it. There might be a simpler implementation:

\procedure space(n) <$text text={{{ [range<n>] :map[[ ]] +[join[]] }}}/>

You can test this by downloading the following and then dragging the resulting file onto any wiki (perhaps https://tiddlywiki.com/):

SpaceInvader.json (441 Bytes)

Thank you!

I tried your solution and I am having trouble calling the procedure when it’s not surrounded by a “pre” tag. Do you know what I could be doing wrong?

Ah, your problem has to do with how HTML handles spaces. It doesn’t like them. :slight_smile:

HTML collapses consecutive white-space characters (spaces, tabs, newlines, etc.) into a single space for display. (If you inspect the generated DOM, the spaces will be there.) This is very useful when writing readable HTML code, but is a problem when your spaces are meaningful. One way around this is to use a non-breaking space character. There are several ways of doing that in HTML. In TiddlyWiki, the best best is probably to use the charcode operator. We can replace the space we’re using above with charcode[160], like this:

\procedure space(n) <$text text={{{ [range<n>] :map[charcode[160]] +[join[]] }}}/>