I see dead people, no, shortcuts everywhere

Is it only me? But I see shortcuts, the possibility of simplifying things, just a little bit more, all the time in TiddlyWiki. It may have become an obsession, but it has also inspired an idea for a book, about a reiterative application of Occam’s Razor to ideas, code and tiddlywiki.

• Is this a reflection on TiddlyWiki’s possibilities or perhaps we do need to simplify further?
  • How do you avoid tinkering, to introduce just another improvement?

I’m sorry, you’ve lost me there…could you explain what you mean? :wink:

How does one avoid always making and developing new ways to do things, tiddlywiki is so customisable and one good solution often can be generalised into another even better solution.

I don’t think it’s only you. I’m a software architect, and the best developers/architects I work with all share the same view: relentless simplification.

This is often accompanied by a focus on abstraction: the more you abstract away from a specific problem, the more generalized your solution may be, and generally the more simple.

It’s harder to do that with TiddlyWiki than with many other tools. Its long history is dragged around with it everywhere. I love the fact that the very first TWs still work well, but because of that, it’s harder to make changes. Have there been any intentional breaking changes since 5.0? If so, I imagine they’re quite rare. But that’s about the core TW itself. In terms of using it, we can find shortcuts/simplifications everywhere. I’m guessing that 5.3 will offer many such opportunities.