How to sort dictionary output by values?

Hi! I’m new to Tiddlywiki

I came across this Searchable Dictionary plugin and love it. But the output search seems to sort by its term (name). How can I get it to sort by their meaning (value) instead?

Thank you !!!

Welcome Dezii!

It seems to me (though I’m not a expert user) that the data dictionary concept is deeply structured in this asymmetrical way — the purpose is to treat the term as the “anchor” for handling information, so that an index of the terms helps to retrieve the other half of the pair, but not vice versa.

Browsing this thread, I don’t see any indication that dictionaries can be sorted by the definition (rather than the term being defined).

Of course a quick-and-dirty solution would be for you to insist on running the dictionary “backwards” — put whatever you want to browse/alphabetize in the “term” role (even if it’s usually a longer string), and the other element on the “definition” side…

Again, I’m not an expert. But I suspect that sorting a dictionary by the definitions (rather than the term being defined) is unlikely to be the most elegant way of solving a problem…

Perhaps if you say more about your actual project, and desired workflow process (rather than asking how to get the dictionary plugin to behave differently), we can help you find/develop the interface you need.

-Springer

1 Like

Hi, Welcome to the community.

I did create a keyvalues plugin, which creates keyvalues operator. This operator allows you to show the key and the value in an “item” string.

If you place the value before the key and run a sort you should be able to sort by value.
There are several examples, that should show you, how it works.

See: KeyValues — advanced data-tiddler functions

4 Likes

I do not have the answer yet, It surprises me because I thought I had in the past. I will update this reply if I find something.