How to get actual URL of a binary object from a tiddler containing it?

I’m trying to implement a simple countdown timer widget, and want it to play a sound when the timer runs out. For that, I intend to use <audio> tag, which needs source attribute.

Assuming I have an mp3 or wav short audio snippet in a tiddler, how can I get the actual (canonical? internal?) url for that audio snippet to feed to my <audio> tag?

And since I’m a newbie in front-end stuff, if I’m doing the thing totally wrong, please show me the right way :slight_smile:

I’ve created lots of time-related add-ons for TiddlyWiki, including a “countdown timer”.

Give this a try…

Copy the following tiddlers to your TiddlyWiki:

Next, create a tiddler (e.g., “MyCountdownSound”)

• add a _canonical_uri field that points to a URL or local file
  • set the type field to the appropriate MIME type (e.g., “audio/mpeg”)

Then, create a tiddler (e.g., “MyCountdown”) containing the following text:

\define done() <audio autoplay src={{MyCountdownSound!!_canonical_uri}}/>
{{||TiddlyTools/Time/CountDown}}

When you press done, you will see a countdown timer interface.

• Enter the desired time (hours, minutes, seconds)
  • Leave the message blank (the custom done() handler will be used instead)
  • Press the “start” button and wait for the timer to reach 00:00:00… your sound will play!

see TiddlyTools/Time/Info for more details on TiddlyTools Time add-ons.

enjoy,
-e

Thank you for the references, I’ll study how does your timer work and maybe replace my code with your plugin.

But still, what would that _caninical_uri be? Should the file be stored somewhere outside TiddlyWiki, or could it live in a tiddler with appropriate mime type? And if the latter holds, how to get its uri?

HI krvkir have a look at this:
https://tiddlywiki.com/#Audio:Audio%20HelloThere%20GettingStarted%20Community

Maybe you can use the same technique recommended by Jeremy for videos to access the raw base 64 data of the mp3