How to change the position of the dropdowns of the editor toolbar

Hi, I’m new here and I’m loving tiddlywiki, indeed I already made some customization and everything went correctly, even if with some difficulties because I’m not an expert at all.

Unfortunately I couldn’t figure out how to change the position of the dropdowns in the editor toolbar. I searched everywhere but I’m really stuck. Here what I discovered:

Using the browser analysis tools (I’m using firefox) I found that the position of these dropdowns is set to absolute like this <span class =" tc-reveal tc-popup" style="position: absolute; z-index...";>. Now, if I manually and temporarily change that “absolute” to “downleft” in the browser tool I have my desired solution.
But when I go to create a tiddler tagged with “$:/tags/Stylesheet” I can’t change the position (I can easly change the background color, but the change of position I try to make is overridden)
Probably my change isn’t specific enough for the css:
e.g. (one of my attempts)

.tc-editor-toolbar .tc-drop-down
{
background: blue;
position: downleft;
}

I even tried to change the vanilla theme, but with no luck (mostly trial and error, I undestand only a fraction of what is there) But ideally I don’t want to mess with the themes. If there was a non-intrusive solution, that would be ideal. I hope I have described the problem well
Thanks in advance

1 Like

Downleft is not a valid value for the property position, so when you set it to it what happens is the same as if you set it to static.

And the reason your CSS doesn’t work is indeed due to specificity. The position: absolute; is defined inside the style attribute:

As this page tells us, inline style gets 1,000 specificity points so to override that in CSS you need to get a bigger number - which you can accomplish by adding !important, thus the CSS you’d want is:

.tc-editor-toolbar .tc-drop-down
{
background: blue;
position: static !important;
}