How to avoid generating a link to a tiddler

Hi,

as an old assembler developer I am sometimes struggling with the number of the right brackets.
Please help me to avoid generating a link.

I want to show the caption field somewhere in my text and I am using this code

{{{ [get[caption]] }}}

I have the caption field now but also it is a link to this what I don’t want to have.

Thx in advance
Stefan

<$text text={{{ [get[caption]] }}} />

Important note: when a filter STARTS with the get[...] filter operator, it has an implied all[] preceding it.

As a result,

{{{ [get[caption]] }}}

will output the captions for ALL tiddlers in your TiddlyWiki.

In addition, when used as a widget parameter value (as in the response provided by @saqimtiaz)

<$text text={{{ [get[caption]] }}} />

it will output the caption of the FIRST tiddler it finds.

To get the result I suspect you want, you will need to specify which tiddler you want the caption from using something like this:

<$text text={{{ [<currentTiddler>get[caption]] }}} />

-e

1 Like

IMO you could use the <<toc-caption>> macro, which is part of the $:/core/macros/toc

At the time of writing, it is implemented like this:

\define toc-caption()
\whitespace trim
<span class="tc-toc-caption tc-tiny-gap-left">
<$set name="tv-wikilinks" value="no">
  <$transclude field="caption">
    <$view field="title"/>
  </$transclude>
</$set>
</span>
\end

So, it disables automatic CamelCase links, and it uses the tiddler title, if the caption is missing.
There are some additional CSS classes, which only matters, if you did mess around with them.

If you do not like the extra classes, you could create your own little macro without the “outer” SPAN.

-m

This is something that the new function definitions excel at, helping us avoid the verbose text widget.

\function get.caption() [get[caption]]

then simple use <<get.caption>> in your text, it will not be a link.