How can I make this filter work? (And how can I make it more efficient?)

Hi, I’m new here and still learning the mechanics of TiddlyWiki, I have to say it’s a great piece of software.

I’m getting the hang of it, but I’m finding the filters less easy to use than I’d hoped. But I’m studying them and I hope that soon I can “master” them too.

I have a question about a mechanism that uses filters that I’m building:

<$list filter="[all[current]get[example]!is[blank]]">
{{!!example}}
</$list>
<$list filter="[all[current]get[example]is[blank]]">
field is empty
</$list>

This should cause the exaple field to be transcluded if the exaple field is not empty, and cause a customizable message to appear if it is empty instead.

First of all, what I’ve shared now doesn’t work, but I can’t figure out why. But I also belive there may be a more efficient solution using conditional operators https://tiddlywiki.com/#Conditional%20Operators

Could anyone give me some pointers?

ok, so, sorry, not technically an answer to your question, but you can do it this way instead…

<$reveal type=“nomatch” state="!!example" text="">
{{!!example}}
</$reveal>
<$reveal type=“match” state="!!example" text="">
error no example! {{defaultExample!!example}}
</$reveal>

The important thing to understand about list filters is that, within the widget contents, <<currentTiddler>> refers to the item output by the list, not to the tiddler that contains the widget.

• In this case, get[example] returns the contents of the current title’s “example” field, if it exists. This becomes the new <<currentTiddler>> / {{!!title}} within the context of the list.
  • That means that any field transclusions you use within the widget contents, like {{!!example}}, will be looking for a field called “example” on the tiddler called “Whatever you put in the example field on the original tiddler”.

Here are a couple of functional alternatives that accomplish the same thing:

<$list filter="[all[current]has[example]]">