Filenames for uploaded tiddlers

Some very uninformed thoughts/opinions on that topic (I’m no expert) :

There is a google thread on a similar topic discussing the problem for RSS feed generation : [tw] [TW5] Generating an Atom feed for a static site

They use MD5 hashes to generate unique ID for each tiddler. This was 7 years ago, maybe a mix of sha-2 + an UNIX key to ensure uniques IDS could work ?

Alternatively, the burden of ensuring an unique ID could be given to the user, who would be free to use whatever organizational system they want :slight_smile: Thus a good future feature I think would be to allow to specify a file name instead of using the tiddler name (through a field reserved for that purpose).

This would help prevent duplicates and would also allow to specify a file extension, which would be very usefull for creating a RSS feed for example.

1 Like

My apologies! I misread this and pressed every wrong button in moving this topic around because of the reference to RSS

I very much agree with this. Actual file systems also rely on the user to keep filenames unique – just enforcing it so duplicates can’t be created.

Also, what is a valid filename will differ depending on what saver / backend you are using. The rules for what can be in a Github repo vs MacOS on disk vs. what can appear in a URI are all different.

I don’t think generating unique IDs is helpful. I do think a “filename” field as an option might be helpful. This gets done automatically per saver where canonical URI is filled in.

Also: is “slug” something that is relevant for this? Might be overlap for statically generated sites, where “My Tiddler” is the tiddler name, and I want the HTTP “slug” to be “mytiddler” or “somecustomslug”. The same can apply to “My RSS Feed” and “feed.xml” being the desired path / slug.