Editor Toolbar Customization

I’m fairly new to TW. I’ve done some customization, but nothing very in-depth.
Is there a way to have Markdown tiddlers show buttons like “Excise the selected text…”?

I can switch it back to Tiddlywiki 5 to use these, then switch back to Markdown. But that is a pain.
I understand that some resulting text might not be compatible with MD - like linking to images (Where I have to manually prefix it w/ an !) but those manual tasks are much easier than switching the Type back and forth.

Thanks!

1 Like

I believe the reason the excise button $:/core/ui/EditorToolbar/excise is not in markdown tiddlers is because;

• It’s condition field does not display it.
    • It will display if you change the condition to;
    • [<targetTiddler>type[]] [<targetTiddler>type[text/vnd.tiddlywiki]] [<targetTiddler>type[text/x-markdown]] [<targetTiddler>type[text/markdown]] +[first[]]
      • I am not sure why I have seen both markdown and x-markdown
  • If displayed, as you excise it does not set the new tiddler to type text/markdown or text/x-markdown. If you do so manually it will work.
  • Yes, but if the source has the correct type the transclude process should handle it.

I believe others have most likely delt with this, but we can create a new or alternate excise button that sets the type to that of the source tiddler should work for all types

I looked to see if this is possible, and it relys on tm-edit-text-operation excise and it already uses a type parameter

• " Type of the replacement to be inserted: Can be one of transclude, link or macro"
  • This may require an edit of the javascript $:/core/modules/editor/operations/text/excise.js
  • I will rase it in the developers forum.

In the mean time use the edited version EditorToolbar_excise-MD.json (526 Bytes)
that will display in markdown tiddlers and set the type on the resulting tiddler.