Edit text fields - single-file or multi-file? - peanut butter or almond butter?

Hi,

I’m new to TW. So far, I have one Timini set up at work and nothing yet set up at home. I’m a little lost on the overwhelming amount of information here and on the main TW site. I’m attempting to get up to speed.

First, before I forget, is there a “first steps” kind of tutorial? Something that might mention the kinds of installations/setups one can use and their pros and cons?

Now, about the items in my subject line:

1. I managed to clone a palette, but it kept the same name in the palette list. I later discovered the text fields, but couldn’t figure out how to edit them so I can truly rename the palette. Help?

2. Since I am using Timini, I’ve obviously got a single-file TW going. But, I think there are multi-file setups. If there are, what are the advantages and disadvantages of the two different systems? Is there a way to do a single-file setup without Timini? Do I just put the empty.html file on a web server and everything will work because I’ll no longer need a local “backend” program to handle that fun communication stuff?

3. Many evenings, I like to snack on peanut butter and frozen chocolate chips (not sweetened with sugar). Altogether, it’s about a quarter of a cup (aka almost 6 centileters). I’ve thought about swapping the peanut butter for almond butter and wondered what all of you thought.

Thanks for your help and your conversation.

First things first — Welcome!

The biggest “selling point” of TiddlyWiki is it’s “self contained”. You can send it per e-mail and on the other side everything will just work … using a browser.

So you can start with a “single file” wiki and switch to “multi tiddler” version later. It’s easy to switch in both directions. From the browser point of view, there is no big difference between the 2 versions. It’s just some plugins that are different.