Customizing Bold and Italic colors permanently

I am new to Tiddlywiki so please be patient with me. I have this project I am working on that needs a lot of formatting. I want to set a specific color to bold and italic permanently so that if I hit the hotkey for Bold or Italic, it automatically sets the color I picked. There are thousands of words in this file so I can’t use:

@@color:blue;
Some example text
@@

Is there are way to do that? Thank you in advanced!

Make a new tiddler and set the tags field to $:/tags/Stylesheet

Set the type field to Stylesheet (text/css)

Then paste the following CSS styles:

.tc-dropzone em { color: blue; }

.tc-dropzone strong { color: red; }

Save the tiddler: all italics should be blue, all bolds should be red. This is what I got when I put it in a tiddler named “Custom Format”:

SimpleStyles

1 Like

It worked! Thank you very much for such a detailed explanation. :+1:

I’m curious to the choice of class to use. I know that .tc-dropzone does happen to wrap all visible content, but it still feels like the wrong target here, for semantic if not practical reasons.

Is there a good Tiddlywiki reason to choose this over any of these alternatives?

• .tc-page-container
  • .tc-page-container-wrapper
  • .tc-body,
  • or simply, body

? Is this target commonplace in TW for universal styling?

It is probably not common at all, but I’ve been using it lately to target styles for overall layout UI.

Since OP wanted the styles to work everywhere I didn’t want them to have to keep adding more selectors if they ever started adding additional UI elements.

I used to write styles that would select the Sidebar, the Tiddler Body and the EditMode Preview pane each, for visual consistency; but I got tired of having to write 3 or more selectors for every general-use style.

So far, I had good luck using .tc-dropzone for elements without any more-specific selectors.

2 Likes