Customising CamelCase link detection functionality

Hey all, I’m fairly new to TiddlyWiki, and I read about Namespacing in the Grok TiddlyWiki Naming Conventions seciton.

I like the idea of adding XX: prefixes to my Tiddlers, but being super lazy, I’d like to do this without creating a link explicitly. Is it possible to modify the CamelCase link detection to incorporate some preceding characters and a colon (or whatever)?

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

G’day,

EDIT: Hey @pixe , first post! Welcome to TiddlerHood !

My suggestion here involves modifying a core tiddler. It might be a good idea to remember, when upgrading to a new version of TiddlyWiki, to exclude this core tiddler from the TiddlyWiki upgrade process, and then modifying the same core tiddler again in the upgraded TiddlyWiki. (That may be clear as mud, but easy to show in pictures when the time comes.)

In the $:/core/modules/config.js tiddler, you want to tell the process that “:” should be treated the same as a lowercase character. (see the screenshot below)

So in the “exports.textPrimitives …” part, where lowerLetter is defined as being between a and z inclusively, just add the colon right after the “z”.

Because this is a javascript macro, you’ll have to save the TiddlyWiki after modifying and saving the core tiddler, close, and reopen the TiddlyWiki for the change to take effect.

From that point on, TiddlyWiki’s CamelCase auto-link mechanism will consider colons as lowercase characters, and should not impact anything else that I can see.

Maybe the Official Plugin Freelinks is what you want. It turns any text that matches a tiddler title into a link.

1 Like

For some reason, I was thinking the Freelinks plugin would over time slow rendering down because wouldn’t it scan all content to identify potential links?

I haven’t played around with it to know any better.

Where is the download for that plugin? I’m having a hard time finding it for some wonky reason.