Considering rebranding Tiddlyhost as TiddlyHub

What do you think? On the one hand it doesn’t make a whole lot of difference, on the other hand, branding is important. I think “hub” has connotations of community and sharing in way that “host” does not. Also it’s slightly shorter. I’m thinking to use the camel case for TiddlyHub since it matches TiddlyWiki and GitHub, one of the better known “hubs”.

If I do change it there’ll be options to redirect, or maybe keep your old urls, so don’t worry about existing links and bookmarks.

1 Like

I think it’s a good marketing idea, but I am not an expert in that.

Cheers,
Hans

Mobile: 647-728-3408

Cool idea! Go for it.

G’day Simon,

It depends on who you are trying to attract and people’s perceptions/understandings of the words “host” vs “hub”.

I like “TiddlyHost” because, to me, it means a place to host my TiddlyWiki(s).

I do not like “TiddlyHub”, because it sniffs like my TiddlyWiki is automatically connected to things I might not want to be connected to. Meant to be open for all to see. Not for me.

You might find other folk turned off for the same or different reasons.

But then you might find a whole swath of folk who want everything of theirs to be connected to everything else.

And a whole swath of folk who are attracted to TiddlyHub because of some other positive understanding of “hub”.

You might want to describe what you mean by “Hub”, and describe the goal(s)/vision of TiddlyHub.

“AnythingHub” is an immediate by its name showstopper for this kid.

1 Like

If the name is changed to tiddlyhub, IMO that means that some kind of community feature is/will be implemented, a bit like what talk.tiddlywiki provide : comments, private messages for exanple. For now I feel like tiddlyhost is more suited to the services the website provide but if you wish to develop the social aspect of the service then yes it would be a great fit !