Can I add "backlinks" only when they are not in the main text already?

Hi.

I am completely new to TiddlyWiki and searched for options to automatically add “backlinks”. I somehow found this which lists all “backlinks” at the bottom of each tiddlr and used it for a while.

However, I’d like to limit this list to “backlinks” not already being part of the tiddlrs main text. I’d like pairs of tiddlers both already linking to each other not to redundantly appear in each others “backlink” list again.

Is there a way to achieve this? Sorry if I was just to stupid to use the right search terms or if this is easy. I unfortunatly don’t know HTML beyond the trivial basics yet.

You can use the filter operator “links[]” to remove the links already in your tiddler from the list you get with the “backlinks[]” operator :

{{{ [{!!title}backlinks[]] -[{!!title}links[]] }}}

Use this filter in a list widget for the ViewTemplate that will show your backlinks.

PS: Nice wiki !

2 Likes

Hi n0r,

Welcome to the community talk and TiddlyWiki. …

You found the right thing, and your search terms have been right too. … The function you envision is possible with a filter like this:

<$list filter='[is[current]backlinks[]limit[1]]' variable=dummy>
<hr>
Backlinks: <$list filter='[<currentTiddler>backlinks[]] -[<currentTiddler>links[]] +[butlast[]]'><$link><$view field="title"/></$link>,</$list>
<$list filter='[<currentTiddler>backlinks[]] -[<currentTiddler>links[]] +[last[]]'><$link><$view field="title"/></$link></$list>
</$list>

I did add -[<currentTiddler>links[]] which searches the current tiddler for existing links and “substracts” them from the existing list the backlinks operartor created.

I needed to move the +[butlast[]] element to the end, since it need to work with the “finished list”.

In the inner list I needed to move the +[last[]] run to the end for the same reason as butlast.

Also see: links operator and Filter Expression docs.

hope that helps.