Can a button set a value to a variable?

Should be easy I think, but I’m still learning, slowly. I didn’t want to ask for something that seems so simple, but I’ve been trying for hours now and so I gave up, I’ll ask. How can this be done?
Basically I want to give the value (the value is a tiddler’s name) to a variable when only when I click a button.

Yes you can change the value of a variable in the action of the button, but this would be useless, because the scope of this variable would be limited to your action!

You have to store a flag somewhere and use that flag (or directly your target value), for instance in a temporary tiddler ($:/temp/) or in a field of such a tiddler.

1 Like

Ah understood. This was an important detail that I was missing, thanks! Instead just to set the value with the button what should I do?

<$button actions="""<$action-setfield $tiddler="$:/temp/store" myfield="myvalue" """>set value</$button>

and elsewhere

<$let myvar = {{$:/temp/store!!myfield}}> do your stuff here </$let>
1 Like

@jypre What is the lifespan of the temporary tiddler?

If someone saves the tiddlywiki file, does that save the temporary tiddler? Is “temporary tiddler” just a concept of being created in $:/temp/?

Or does everything in $:/temp/ get deleted when you first open a tiddlywiki? Or tiddlers created in $:/temp/ automatically disappear at some point?

When you save the TiddlyWiki file, it uses a saver “template” named $:/core/save/all, which defines a macro called saveTiddlerFilter() that contains a filter to control which tiddlers are saved to the file.

The filter includes syntax: -[prefix[$:/temp/]], which prevents all tiddlers with the $:/temp/ prefix from being saved (note the leading “-” on the filter syntax). Thus, when you save and reload your TiddlyWiki, all $:/temp/ tiddlers are gone without your having to do anything.

2 Likes