Announcing Monaco (VS Code) Editor for TiddlyWiki

Hey everyone!

As a developer I use Visual Studio Code often and so I got pretty comfortable with editing text in it. Every time I used any kind of other editor in TiddlyWiki, I longed for similar editing features.

But then I thought, hey, VS Code’s editor - Monaco - is open source, what if … we just integrate it into TiddlyWiki?

Behold, my first attempt:

https://smilyorg.github.io/tw5-monaco/

Feel free to give it a spin and copy it into your own wiki!

Source is on GitHub.

Let me know what you think! :blush:

17 Likes

Oh man, that editor is a thing of beauty. So is your work integrating that into TiddlyWiki.

Congrats !

The second that works offline, I’ll be looking into using that in BASIC Anywhere Machine.

ASIDE: Yours is a kick-caboose first post to this forum. Holy mackerel …

Delayed side-thought:

Man, that “outliner” right-sidebar (whatever it is called) rocks something silly.

That would be awesome not just editing tiddlers, but also viewing tiddlers. Euphoria just thinking about it …

1 Like

Oooh, very interesting. How do I link to a tiddler, e.g the tiddler “github-readme” (which is not camelcased)?

1 Like

G’day,

Same as normal, unless your tiddler is “Markdown” type. Not sure how that works.

EDIT: tw5-monaco — Monaco Editor for TiddlyWiki (usage tab … I’m just looking at it now.)

2 Likes

Thanks! :grin:

With offline do you mean self-hosting the Monaco files or embedding the source into tiddlers so it works as a single-file html?

You mean the minimap? It’s pretty neat yeah. Not sure how easy it would be to extract it for general use though if you wanted to use it for viewing :sweat_smile:

Ah… I’m a discourse noob, I just realized you can quote directly, this looks better.

Not sure what you mean, but all the features of markdown/wikitext remain the same, this only changes the edit mode of the tiddler.