A demo overview-chart project with virtual fields (aikido)

With thanks to Mohammad (and tobibeer and TWaddle and others), I was able to scratch one of those “If you wish it existed, try to build it” itches.

This project is for martial arts study – specifically aikido. I wanted a “big picture” chart of how specific attacks might be met with specific responsive techniques (within the particular tradition I’m studying), with instant-gratification embedded video previews (yes, broadband recommended!), and quick interstitial links to navigate along this or that axis of relation.

What this tiddlywiki might demonstrate, for novice users of Shiraz who wouldn’t find it obvious, is how to use templates, within dynamic tables, to extract related information as if it were contained in fields. Every “cell” in this dynamic table is automatically filled in based on the same criteria. All this related info could have been entered into fields, but that redundancy is unnecessary. The crucial template tiddler is a clone of a shiraz template:

$:/plugins/kookma/shiraz/templates/body/technique

EDIT TO ADD: Here’s a permalink for convenience:
my example of a dynamic-table template for virtual fields

The idea of virtual tiddlers from a recent discussion (or holographic or potential – all technically “Missing” tiddlers that still represent something in information-space) thus seems to have a parallel in the form of virtual fields.

https://aikido.tiddlyhost.com/

password [for now]: the most obvious possible one (the subdomain at tiddlyhost)

Comments welcome, as always!

-Springer

6 Likes

Smart design!
lovely new coined terms: virtual fields, very powerful tool in combination with dynamic table.

Thank you for sharing!

1 Like

Whoa! Brilliant!

You kindly credit the tech (@Mohammad, @twMat, tobibeer et al.) but on the content you should also credit yourself!

On Content: You did an amazing analytic job organising the aikido moves in a way that makes sense!